Reading Report – April 2017

I’ve continued my daily reading and am still actively checking off titles from my reading list.  The vast majority of my titles this month were ones that I’ve read before.  I greeted each one with a warm nostalgia; however, I found that the intervening years and experiences have changed me so the stories were not quite the same.


A Book with a Cat on the Cover (completed 3/30/17)

Little Town on the Prairie by Laura Ingalls Wilder – I was stumped by this category until a good friend suggested I Google “books with cats on the cover.”  To my surprise, this one showed up.  I’ve been wanting to read the entire series for a while now, but I didn’t really have any incentive to do so.  This gave me the encouragement I needed.  To my surprise, I don’t ever recall reading this book before even though I was pretty sure that I had read all of them.  I have no recollection of Laura meeting Almanzo prior to These Happy Golden Years and didn’t know how she got her first teaching job.


A Book Involving Travel (completed 4/6/17)

Eat, Pray, Love: One Woman’s Search for Everything across Italy, India, and Indonesia by Elizabeth Gilbert – I read this sometime before coming to Victoria to live and work, but I believe it was after I had moved to Texas.  My memories of this book, prior to re-reading it, was of Gilbert eating everything in site in Italy, struggling to meditate in India, and meeting a man in Indonesia.  This encounter, however, was slightly different.  I think that being in a different stage in my life gave me an entirely new lens through which to view this story.  It reminds me that we are all changing and growing (or we should be) and can never “step in the same river twice.”


A Book Involving a Mythical Creature (completed 4/13/17)

Artemis Fowl by Eoin Colfer – I first heard about this book many moons ago while teaching middle school students.  I was immediately turned off by the description – “Twelve-year-old Artemis Fowl is a millionaire, a genius-and, above all, a criminal mastermind” (Amazon.com).  I always root for the underdog and never like characters who are evil or bad.  But I wanted to be able to connect to my students, and this sounded like something they would want to read.  I bought the book and read it to see if it was appropriate for my class library, and I immediately fell in love with Artemis, Butler, Holly, Foley, and the rest of the gang.  I eagerly awaited the release of each sequel for the next several years.  Having the opportunity to re-read this book brought back many happy memories from a time in my life when there weren’t many to relish.


A Book Recommended by an Author I Love (completed 4/20/17)

Why We Get Fat: And What to Do about It by Gary Taubes – I originally slated this book as the one about food.  However, as I read it, I quickly realized that it really isn’t about food and questioned why I was reading it to begin with.  Then I remembered that Gretchen Rubin recommended it in her book Better than Before:  What I Learned about Making and Breaking Habits – to Sleep More, Quit Sugar, Procrastinate Less, and Generally Build a Happier Life (Rubin really should get an award for Longest Titles). Since I needed a book for this category, I decided to change my selection and find a new, more enjoyable book about food.  If I can’t eat it, I might as well relish the pleasure of reading it.

A Book Set in a Wilderness (completed 4/26/17)

Where the Red Fern Grows by Wilson Rawls – This was the first novel I ever taught when I started teaching 7th grade reading.  I loved the story then, and I still do today.  One of my friends once stated that she identifies a good movie as one that makes her laugh and cry, and that is definitely true for this book as well.


Update:  I did finish Between the World and Me by Ta-Nehisi Coates on 3/23/2017 .


In addition to the completed reads above, I’m also still working on One Year to An Organized Work Life: From Your Desk to Your Deadlines, the Week-by-Week Guide to Eliminating Office Stress for Good by Regina Leeds and Happier at Home:  Kiss More, Jump More, Abandon Self-Control, and My Other Experiments in Everyday Life by Gretchen Rubin.

How often do you re-read books from your past?  Are they the same as your remembered, or are they (or are you) different?

Leave a Reply

