Reading Report – March 2017

So, for any of you who aren’t familiar with me, I’m a planner.  When I embarked on my 2017 reading challenge, I noticed the 52 categories which coincided very nicely with 52 weeks in a year and decided to read one book a week until the challenge is completed.  For normal most people, this would simply mean choosing a book, reading it in a week, and then moving on to the next one.  For me, it means choosing all 52 books, the category they go in, and when I’m going to read them.  I have most of the books already and only need to purchase a few more, but each one is plotted somewhere in my calendar for the rest of 2017.  I just need 3 more books – one recommended by a librarian, one recommended by an author, and a book purchased at a book sale.

Here’s an update on what I’ve read and what I’m currently still working on.


A Book that Takes Place over a Character’s Life Span (completed 2/28/17)

A Man Called Ove by Fredrik Backman – I knew nothing about this novel when I chose it.  It was recommended on Goodreads as a book fitting this category, so I purchased it and started reading.  I think I was sobbing uncontrollably by the end of my first or second day of reading.  This is such a great story!  And, as the description says, it will definitely change your views of the curmudgeons in your life.


A Book with a Title that’s a Character’s Name (completed 3/4/17)

Charlotte’s Web by E. B. White – Like most people, I read Charlotte’s Web as a child, but it has been some time since I’ve read the book or watched the movie, so I thought I would revisit this classic.  It was great to read about Fern, Wilbur, and Charlotte, but I also discovered parts of this story that I don’t recall every reading before!


A Book with an Unreliable Narrator (completed 3/11/17)

The Perks of Being a Wallflower by Stephen Chbosky – This was another book that I didn’t research before I started reading.  It was recommended in this category, so I decided to give it a shot.  It was a bit jarring to go from Charlotte’s Web to this book, but I’m not sorry that I read it.  While Charlotte’s Web took me back to my childhood, The Perks of Being a Wallflower took me back to my teen years.  It certainly encapsulated every current teen issue/topic within it’s pages.


A Book I Bought on a Trip (completed 3/17/17)

Beauty and the Beast: Lost in a Book by Jennifer Donnelly – I picked this book up on my last trip to Dallas and managed to finish it just in time to see the movie.  I’m glad I read it before seeing the movie as it had a few backstory items that the movie introduced but the original Disney animated film did not include.  Anyone who has ever gotten “lost in a book” should definitely read this one.


Update:  I did finish The House on Mango Street by Sandra Cisneros on 2/19/2017 and Dragonfly in Amber by Diana Gabaldon on 2/25/2917.


In addition to the completed reads above, I’m also still working on One Year to An Organized Work Life: From Your Desk to Your Deadlines, the Week-by-Week Guide to Eliminating Office Stress for Good by Regina Leeds and Happier at Home:  Kiss More, Jump More, Abandon Self-Control, and My Other Experiments in Everyday Life by Gretchen Rubin.

And, I’m currently reading the following:


 A Book of Letters (3/18/17 – ?)

Between the World and Me by Ta-Nehisi Coates – I chose this book because it fit the category and also because it was recommended as a brilliant, but quick, read.  I was captivated by the premise, a father’s letters to his son, as I wrote Erica a few letters when she was a baby.  There’s something about expressing love and lessons through letter writing that I believe will be lost with the immediate electronic world we live in today.


I hope many of you spent your spring break reading (as I did) and that you enjoyed every minute of it!

2 comments

Leave a Reply

