Learning Links – March 2017

I’m so excited!  Writing this blog post every month is 1) giving me an opportunity to clean up my Twitter likes, and 2) providing me with a reason to read all of the links I’ve archived.  Once again, I’ve chose 10 links from a variety of topics to share with you today (in no particular order).  Enjoy!


Three Reasons to Consider Bulk Lesson Planning by Anne Guarnera

Guarnera’s article focuses on sound lesson design, so I was immediately hooked.  In the semesters where I’ve had the time and opportunity to plan my lessons in advance, the courses have always gone much better (for me and for my students).  It’s a great feeling during busy weeks not to have to worry about what I’m teaching in my next class.

Towards a ‘Positive U’ by Beverley Myatt and Lynne N. Kennette

This article highlights six things that faculty can do to create a more positive classroom environment.  These tips may be necessary in the upcoming weeks after spring break as students become more stressed and lethargic in class.  They are also a great way to incorporate a few of the “firsts” we are focusing on for our students during their first days, weeks, and months.

Should There Be a 5th C in the Partnership for 21st-Century Learning? by Peter DeWitt

In EDUC 1300, we talk to our students about transferable skills – the “soft skills” that employers look for in addition to the technical and academic skills.  These skills are usually centered around communication, critical thinking, creativity, and collaboration.  DeWitt suggests that there should be another skill – collaboration – that helps our students learn the social-emotional aspects of learning.

Why Some People Get Burned Out and Others Don’t by Kandi Wiens and Annie McKee

Self-care has been a hot topic among academics on my Twitter feed lately, and it’s not surprising at all.  I’ve written about burn-out before and the Maslach Burnout Inventory which is also mentioned in this post.  Maybe not surprisingly, those who have better emotional intelligence have better coping strategies which reinforces the idea that we may need to teach our students more about social-emotional aspects of learning.

Gifts of the Moment: Learning to Listen and Respond through Improvisation by Chris Kreiser

I have to admit that upon first reading this article, all I could think about was this episode of The Big Bang Theory.  Kreiser offers some techniques, ice-breakers and uses for listening and responding to students as well as teaching students to listen and respond to one another.

This University Has No Teachers, Syllabus, or Fees by David Rowan

The title alone had me hooked!  However, as I read, I realized that even though I have a vague idea of what Rowan is talking about, I don’t completely understand all of the aspects.  I gathered that it connects to gamification and competency-based learning, but it mostly seems pie-in-the-sky from a realist’s perspective.

Revision Is Essential in Teaching, Too by David Gooblar

Gooblar compares planning a course to the actual writing process in this article, and it actually makes a great deal of sense.  I’ve heard many writers mention Scrivener when writing, which can also be used for course planning as well.  I haven’t tried it yet, but it’s definitely going on my to do list.

New teaching approach brings more students into Stanford’s archives by Alex Shashkevich

Yes, it’s Stanford, and we are Victoria College, but imagine the possibilities!  If a little collaboration and out-of-the-box thinking gets students actively involved in our subjects, isn’t that a wonderful thing?  I’m already dreaming of ways I can get my students more actively involved in what it means to be a learner, and I’m sure our wonderful librarians would be thrilled to work with anyone on a project such as this (or any other project that gets students learning and visiting the library).

Price, Cost, and Fees by Matt Reed

I have to admit, I’ve attended three colleges and universities in two states, and while I know the difference between these words, I didn’t pay that much attention to how the price of each when I enrolled.  I simply looked at the cost per credit hour.

 

 

Leave a Reply

