Blog Refresh

When I first started this blog a year and a half ago, the idea behind my Friday posts was sound.  I wanted to share the information I discovered and uncovered with all of my readers.  Somewhere along the way, my posts lost their focus from this original goal, so I would like to get back to my that early plan.  With that in mind, I would like to update you on the upcoming changes for my posts.

Each Friday will feature a different type of post.  For example, the first Friday of every month will be titled Recent Research.  One of the many benefits of a teaching and learning center like CAPE is we can find and curate best practices and recent research articles so you don’t have to.  My plan is to provide you with the list of research articles that may have been published in areas of interest to various stakeholders at VC.  If you would like information in a particular content or area, please let me know and I will do my best to pass along any information I find in that area.

Since I think of this blog as a way to promote lifelong learning, the second Friday of each month will be called Learning Links and consist of the links in higher education that I found interesting.  While I’m not an expert in all subjects, contents, and/or specialties, I do follow quite a wide selection of professors and learning professionals on Twitter who often post interesting articles.  I’m hoping to pass these links along to you so that you can continue your own lifelong learning as well.  I do have to admit that this is not an original idea.  Modern Mrs. Darcy does a Links I Love on her blog as well.

Last semester I wrote a post about how I developed a reading habit and what I had read.  I received quite a few comments about this post, so I thought I would continue that on a monthly basis (again, this is not an original idea as I’ve often seen other bloggers do the same as well as Modern Mrs. Darcy).  My Reading Report will appear on the third Friday of each month.  Hopefully you will find some ideas and inspiration for your future reading selections, and I would love to hear your recommendations as well.  I am currently working on the 2017 Reading Challenge which consists of 52 topics – or an average of one book per week!  So far, I’m still on track, but we’ll see what happens when I try to read an 800-page book in one week!  That may have to be my spring break read 🙂

And finally, the last Friday of each month will be called Lifelong Learning and will consist of what I’ve learned during that month.  I’m an avid learner and hope that each month I can share with you what I’ve learned and what my students have taught me, and maybe inspire you to be a lifelong learner as well (if you aren’t already).  And, since learning is a reciprocal process, I hope you will share what you are learning as well.  (If you haven’t noticed, I am a huge fan of Modern Mrs. Darcy who also does a What I Learned post occasionally.)

So, with all of that being said, I hope you enjoy the new format and find it helpful in all that you hope to learn and achieve.

One comment

Leave a Reply

