Using Photoshop to Create Invitations

A few years back I needed to send out birthday invitations for my little girl’s birthday party at a roller rink. My first thought was that I could find some generic ones at the store and type up or write out directions to the venue. But then I had an epiphany! I could just make my own in Photoshop! So, I took a photo of my girl rollerskating, did a quick screen capture of the roller rink from Google Maps, and then typed up the directions, etc. I put it all together in Photoshop, and then either printed them off (cheaply – about 20 cents or so for a 4 by 6 card) or emailed them (to those parents/kids for whom I knew the email address). This week’s blog is about that: personalizing invitations using Photoshop.

So, let’s get started and make our invitations!

Let’s start it off by creating a new document (File > New).

invitation_one

The first window that pops up gives you a chance to choose your options. Here you can give it a name (but that’s not really necessary at this point). Also, you will want to choose the size of the document. You will notice that I chose 6 by 4, because if I wanted to print these, it would be a good size to print. The resolution here is 90 pixels/inch. You can choose any number you want, really, but I wouldn’t go higher than 300. When you change the resolution, take note of the image size changing. It could help guide you.

invitation_two

The screenshot below shows that I have also opened two other files in Photoshop: one is a generic stock photo of a child skating (you would open one of your own photos here). I also have a screen capture (not shown, but you can see the tab) of Google Maps, showing the location of the roller rink. You can see that I have selected the photo (either by clicking and dragging across the photo, or choosing Cmd+ A for the Mac, or Ctrl+A for a Windows PC). Then select Cmd+C (Ctrl+C) to copy the photo. You will do this for both photos here, in turn.

invitation_four

I have pasted the two photos (Cmd+V/Ctrl+V) onto the new document I created in the first step. As you will see, it created a new layer for each photo pasted. You can rearrange the photos as you like.

invitation_five

Now we need to add the text, so select the text tool, as shown below.

invitation_six

The options for your text (font choice, size, color, etc.) are located at the top of the workspace. Simply click your mouse anywhere on the document. A new layer will be created, and you will be able to move it around (by selecting Cmd+T/Ctrl+T) once you type the text.

invitation_seven

The screen shot below shows that I did this several times, for each portion of the text. I did this, because it makes it easier for me to move around the separate elements of the text to fit what I am trying to accomplish.

invitation_eight

Once I get all the details typed out, and move the photos around as I want, I can now save the document. Besides the regular “save as a jpeg” that you would expect, we will also save it in a format that will be easy to email to everyone. To do this, just choose File>Save for Web.

invitation_nine

The two main things to note when you choose “Save for Web” are:
1) JPEG is a good file format to use;
2) Make sure “Convert to sRGB” is selected.

invitation_ten

And that’s it! Oh, and as a bonus, here’s the invitation I came up with in about 10 minutes a couple of years back. Much more personal than a store-bought card, don’t you think?

SONY DSC

Leave a Reply

