Healthy {Technology} Habits

This is a public service announcement inspired by a true story.

Last Friday I was sitting at my desk eating a breakfast taco as I prepared for my workshop that started in less than an hour. My coworker called and asked me a question that prompted me to look something up online. As I began typing, I caught something moving out of the corner of my eye. It was a bug (later identified as a juvenile German cockroach)
crawling out of my keyboard. I was horrified. I don’t do roaches (or most bugs for that Small bugmatter). I quickly pushed myself away from my desk, still on the phone by the way, and began calling for another coworker to come help me (I believe the phrase I used was “I need a man!”). Thankfully, one of my male coworkers came to investigate my cries for help. Meanwhile, the coworker that I was on the phone with was also on her way over to my rescue. Like I said, I don’t do bugs. After several minutes and a few keys were popped out of my keyboard, the bug was captured and killed. I was so traumatized that I didn’t even finish my breakfast taco. L Although, I did decide to thoroughly clean and sanitize my keyboard and desk later that day.

Besides bugs in keyboards, all the technology we touch is crawling with germs. Crawling, get it? Our hands touch multiple surfaces throughout the day and then we touch our tablets and phones with those hands. Think of all the germs. Gross. Don’t believe me? Check out this article comparing germs on various surfaces.

As spring approaches, this may be a good time to do some spring cleaning, both of physical clutter and of germs that live on devices or surfaces you interact with frequently. PCWorld has a guide on how to properly clean out your keyboard, so you can prevent having a visitor like the one I had. And to cut down on germs, The New York Times provides great tips on how to clean various mobile devices.

Leave a Reply

