Trying to Rejuvenate

DEVOLSON

I always seem to go into a downward slump during this time of the year. The excitement and joy of beginning classes and starting a new semester has waned, but it’s not yet time to begin closing out the semester or looking forward to the holidays yet either. The days continue on, one very similar to the previous and the next. For me in particular, there’s also the looming threat of winter with its short days and dropping temperatures. This feeling during this time of year is not uncommon for teachers. In fact, one such teacher and blogger coined the phrase DEVOLSON – the Dark, Evil Vortex of Late September, October, and November. Now I’m not going to go so far as to throw a DEVOLSON party as she suggests, but I must admit that DEVOLSON has definitely surrounded me in the last few weeks.

As is usually typical during this time, I start to look for ways to rejuvenate myself and to maintain my enthusiasm for the subject material in my classes. It’s really easy in my Introduction to Teaching class because this is the time of the year when we start discussing the curriculum and lesson planning and all of the creative aspects to our profession. But that’s not always enough. This year I felt the need to rejuvenate myself physically, so I colored my hair and have been straightening it as well. It’s helped a little. I definitely feel younger when gray hairs aren’t staring me in the face every morning!

Today is the last day of the first eight weeks, so for some of you, you will be embarking on new courses and meeting new students next week. For the rest of us, we have to somehow rejuvenate and re-energize ourselves to make it through the remaining eight weeks of the course. I’m interested in hearing what some of your strategies are for maintaining your positivity and focus during this last part of the semester. However, this week, I’m not asking just for comments. I would like to challenge you to share your thoughts and ideas with others by writing a short guest blog post that we can publish on our blog starting next week. The idea is simple – share your strategies for staying positive and enthusiastic! All you have to do is write your blog post in a Word document and send it to us via email at cape@victoriacollege.edu. We’ll do the rest of the work.

One comment

Leave a Reply

