Remind Text Reminders

As the start of the semester approaches, I’d like to share a tool with you that I’ve found to be an invaluable resource when it comes to communicating with students.

Remind is a free service that allows you to send out text reminders to your students without giving out your personal number.  Texts can be sent out immediately, like if you wanted to inform your students that you’re running late for class, or they can be scheduled in advance. In previous semesters I taught online, so I took advantage of the scheduling feature in Remind.  I scheduled them to be sent out each week to remind students of upcoming due dates. I could immediately tell the difference in my online class once I started sending out these reminders.

One of the best things about Remind is that you do not have to have a smartphone to use it. I’ve found it easier for me to schedule texts through Remind.com. Users can choose to sign up for your reminders via text, email, or the app.

If you are interested in using this free tool, you can sign up today! I hope you can reap the benefits as much as I have!

Leave a Reply

